You should take your time when choosing a personal injury attorney, but remember that your time to file a case is limited. People who have suffered an injury, and want to file a personal injury case, must act quickly because of laws known as statutes of limitations. If you consult with a personal injury attorney about your case, he or she will tell you that exactly how much time you have to file. Every state, including North Carolina, has a statute of limitations that requires you to file your lawsuit within a specific amount of time. If you fail to act before that time is up, you will not be able to recover compensation for your injuries.
Personal injury cases are not the only type of action that is affected by statutes of limitations. For example, if you drive recklessly, or you are caught speeding, there is a limited amount of time in which the authorities can charge you with a traffic offense. North Carolina has time limitations on civil actions that can range from 1 to 10 years. The statute of limitations for filing a lawsuit for personal injury cases is 3 years.
When the clock starts
The method to determine how long you have to file a lawsuit depends upon two basic facts. The first, of course, is that you know what the North Carolina statute of limitations is. The second fact is that you have to know the exact date when you knew that you suffered an injury. For example, the date could be confirmed as the day that a doctor gave you his or her diagnosis and cause of your injury. At that point, the clock begins counting down. However, your attorney can explain the situation with more specific clarity because the test here is not always about determining what the injured person might have known; it also revolves around the question of what he or she should have known.
Slowing or pausing the clock
In some cases, it is possible to get a pause on the statute of limitations. This legal term for this pause is known as tolling. Just as every state has differences in time limits imposed, states and cases have differences for allowing people to toll the statute of limitations. If you have been injured and you have questions regarding how the laws apply to your situation, you should consult a personal injury attorney in the Charlotte area immediately.
Charlotte, NC personal injury lawyers
It is important to remember that no matter how safe you try to be, negligent and irresponsible people can affect your life. This is why the accident and injury attorneys at the Olive Law Firm of Charlotte, NC are also ready to work for you and your family. If you or a family member ends up injured as the result of a negligent act or an act of omission; call the offices of the Olive law Firm for a free consultation with a compassionate and qualified personal injury attorney.